Eyes Closed Tight
by Peter Leonard


Trade Paperback ISBN: 978-1-61188-114-1
E-book ISBN: 978-1-61188-115-8
Publication Date: March 4, 2014 -- 282 pages


“While he will always face comparisons with his legendary father, Elmore Leonard, the author (Quiver; Trust Me; Voices of the Dead; All He Saw Was the Girl) continues to establish himself as one of today’s better mystery writers. Easily readable in a single sitting, Leonard’s fifth novel will appeal to fans of mystery, thrillers, and the Leonard name.”– Library Journal

“Peter Leonard has that rare ability to totally draw the reader into his story within the space of a few sentences. He has demonstrated it before in his other books, but perhaps never so strongly as in EYES CLOSED TIGHT, his latest and best novel to date.”
– Bookreporter

“The book’s pages are crammed with trademark Leonardisms, from realistic dialogue full of rhythm and nuance to cool and colorful characters, quick to action…. But it’s the characters, their voices, the way they talk and go about their business (we also see the story unfold from the killer’s perspective) that propel the reader page after page. Leonard’s got a real knack for it, just like his dad.”
– Toledo Blade

“A highly entertaining murder mystery…. I don't think I want to close my eyes ever again!”
– Something Wordy

“Written in the great style of the old gumshoe detective novels, this is a very modern take on the concept that manages to keep all the charm of an earlier age. O’Clair is a believable, likable hero that will appeal to readers of Randy Wayne White and Elmore Leonard.”
– Cayocosta 72

“Tense, fast-paced and really enjoyable.”
– Inside of a Dog

“Author Peter Leonard provides a surprise ending that readers will not see coming.”
– Just Reviews


 
O'Clair is a former Detroit homicide investigator who now owns a motel in Pompano Beach, Florida in his retirement. He runs the place with his much younger girlfriend, Virginia, who's a knockout and can fix anything. One morning, he’s cleaning up after the previous night’s partiers when he sees a lovely young woman stretched out asleep on a lounge chair. He shakes her gently. Then he touches her neck and feels for a pulse. There isn't one. Her skin is cold, body starting to stiffen, definitely in the early stages of rigor.

When a second girl is murdered, O'Clair knows someone is trying to send him a message. The way the girls are killed reminds O'Clair of a case he investigated years earlier. Now convinced the Pompano murders are related, O'Clair returns to Detroit Police Homicide to review the murder file and try to figure out what he might have missed.

And when Virginia is kidnapped by the killer, the stakes grow exponentially higher.

The most powerful work to date by one of the most thrilling suspense novelists of our time, EYES CLOSED TIGHT is relentless, surprising, and deeply satisfying.

A very powerful piece about life after the death of Peter’s father, Elmore Leonard, appears here.

 


“The most powerful work to date by one of the most thrilling suspense novelists of our time, EYES CLOSED TIGHT is relentless, surprising, and deeply satisfying.”– Tome Tender


 

Peter LeonardNew York Times bestselling author Thomas Perry said of Peter Leonard’s first novel, Quiver, “Peter Leonard has a good ear for voices, a good eye for detail, and a talent for bringing together elements that can’t do anything but explode.” New York Times bestselling author Carl Hiaasen said of Peter Leonard’s second novel, “Trust Me is fast, sly and full of twists.” Peter Leonard is a rare suspense writer that is also a true wordsmith. You’ll revel in his prose as you thrill to his stories.

 


“A fast read with enough red herrings and suspenseful twists to keep readers' interest engaged until the surprising conclusion.”– Fresh Fiction

on February 15 • by

Comments are closed.